Menu Close
Using Goals

For the most accurate info, select your account’s partner bank.

Oval 1 Created with Sketch.

Your partner bank is in your card number.

Check the first two digits: “40” means BBVA Compass, “48” means Bancorp. You can also sign in to Simple and check your “Account Numbers” screen.

Spending from a Goal

Once you have some funds in a Goal, you can edit a transaction to associate it with a Goal. This is great for envelope-style budgeting. You can set aside enough funds for "Groceries" or "Entertainment" for a month, and then link transactions with the appropriate Goal. If you mark a transaction as "spent from" a Goal, but the Goal has less funds than the amount of the transaction, the remaining sum will be pulled out of your Safe-to-Spend.

To do this, just click on the transaction and select Edit. Then, click Spend from a Goal to pick which Goal you'd like to spend from.

If you spend from a Goal while it's saving over time, a dark bar will appear showing how much you've spent.

Moving money in and out

You can instantly add more funds to a Goal at any point. Just click on your Safe-to-Spend and then drag and drop on the Goal you'd like to add funds to. Then, confirm the amount you'd like to transfer.

To move money out, click on the Goal you'd like to move money from, and then drag and drop onto your Safe-to-Spend. Once again, you'll be asked to confirm how much money you'd like to move.

If you decide you'd like to add more funds to a Goal over time, just select the Goal, start editing it, select "Save more over time" and choose a new amount and a new target date. You can do this with completed or in progress Goals.

Deleting or archiving a Goal

When you've completed a Goal, or decided you no longer want to save up for a Goal, you can archive or delete it. Any funds remaining in the Goal will be transferred to your Safe-to-Spend.

Archiving is essentially the same as deleting, and Goals that have transactions associated with them are automatically archived instead of deleted so that those associations stay in place. That way, you have an accurate record of your spending, even when the Goal is gone. Heads up—archived Goals cannot be resumed.

To delete or archive, just click on the Goal and then hit Delete Goal or Archive Goal.

Spending from a Goal

Once you have some funds in a Goal, you can edit a transaction to associate it with a Goal. This is great for envelope-style budgeting. You can set aside enough funds for "Groceries" or "Entertainment" for a month, and then link transactions with the appropriate Goal. If you mark a transaction as "spent from" a Goal, but the Goal has less funds than the amount of the transaction, the remaining sum will be pulled out of your Safe-to-Spend.

To do this, just click on the transaction and select Edit. Then, pick which Goal you'd like to spend from.

If you spend from a Goal while it's saving over time, a dark bar will appear showing how much you've spent.

Moving money in and out

You can instantly add more funds to a Goal at any point. Just click on your Safe-to-Spend and then drag and drop on the Goal you'd like to add funds to. Then, confirm the amount you'd like to transfer.

To move money out, click on the Goal you'd like to move money from, and then drag and drop onto your Safe-to-Spend. Once again, you'll be asked to confirm how much money you'd like to move.

If you decide you'd like to add more funds to a Goal over time, just select the Goal, start editing it, select "Save more over time" and choose a new amount and a new target date. You can do this with completed or in progress Goals.

Deleting or archiving a Goal

When you've completed a Goal, or decided you no longer want to save up for a Goal, you can archive or delete it. Any funds remaining in the Goal will be transferred to your Safe-to-Spend.

Archiving is essentially the same as deleting, and Goals that have transactions associated with them are automatically archived instead of deleted so that those associations stay in place. That way, you have an accurate record of your spending, even when the Goal is gone. Heads up—archived Goals cannot be resumed.

To delete or archive, just click on the Goal and then hit Delete Goal or Archive Goal.

Spending from a Goal

Once you have some funds in a Goal, you can edit a transaction to associate it with a Goal. This is great for envelope style budgeting — you can set aside enough funds for "Groceries" or "Entertainment" for a month, and then link transactions with the appropriate Goal. If you mark a transaction as "spent from" a Goal, but the Goal has less funds than the amount of the transaction, the remaining sum will be pulled out of your Safe-to-Spend.

To do this, just tap on the transaction. This will bring you to the edit screen. Then, select Spending from . . . to pick which Goal you'd like to spend from.

description

If you spend from a Goal while it's saving over time, part of the progress bar will be darkened to show how much you've spent.

description

Moving money in and out

You can instantly add more funds to a Goal at any point. Just tap on the Goal to bring up the edit screen, and then hit Transfer. You'll select an amount, and you'll have the option to transfer from your Safe-to-Spend or another Goal.

description

description

You can also move money out by tapping on the Goal, and then tapping on your Safe-to-Spend (as if you were going to select another Goal from which to transfer). This'll bring up a toggle that'll allow you to transfer from the Goal rather than into it.

Deleting or archiving a Goal

When you've completed a Goal, or decided you no longer want to save up for a Goal, you can archive or delete it. Any funds remaining in the Goal will be transferred to your Safe-to-Spend.

Archiving is essentially the same as deleting, and Goals that have transactions associated with them are automatically archived instead of deleted so that those associations stay in place. That way, you have an accurate record of your spending, even when the Goal is gone. Heads up—archived Goals cannot be resumed.

To delete or archive, just tap on the Goal and then hit Delete Goal or Archive Goal.

Spending from a Goal

Once you have some funds in a Goal, you can edit a transaction to associate it with a Goal. This is great for envelope style budgeting — you can set aside enough funds for "Groceries" or "Entertainment" for a month, and then link transactions with the appropriate Goal. If you mark a transaction as "spent from" a Goal, but the Goal has less funds than the amount of the transaction, the remaining sum will be pulled out of your Safe-to-Spend.

To do this, just tap on the transaction. This will bring you to the edit screen. Then, select Spending from . . . to pick which Goal you'd like to spend from.

description

If you spend from a Goal while it's saving over time, a dark bar will appear showing how much you've spent.

description

Moving money in and out

You can instantly add more funds to a Goal at any point. Just tap on the Goal to bring up the edit screen, and then hit Make a transfer. You'll select an amount, and you'll have the option to transfer from your Safe-to-Spend or another Goal.
description

description

You can also move money out. Tapping on the arrow in the image above allows you to transfer from the Goal rather than into it.

Deleting or archiving a Goal

When you've completed a Goal, or decided you no longer want to save up for a Goal, you can archive or delete it. Any funds remaining in the Goal will be transferred to your Safe-to-Spend.

Archiving is essentially the same as deleting, and Goals that have transactions associated with them are automatically archived instead of deleted so that those associations stay in place. That way, you have an accurate record of your spending, even when the Goal is gone. Heads up—archived Goals cannot be resumed.

To delete or archive, just tap on the Goal, and then tap on the trash icon in the upper right corner of the screen.

description

Did you find this article helpful? Yes / No
Aw man. Thanks for letting us know!