Pending Charges

Why is this transaction marked as pending?

When you make a card purchase with your PIN, the transaction will normally be finalized very quickly. If you make a purchase without a PIN, you'll see a pending charge appear on your account. The transaction may remain pending for a while before it's finalized, though it will be reflected in your available balance and your Safe-to-Spend right away.

The exact timeframe depends on the merchant, since they finalize their transactions in batches. It's common for them to do this once a day, but some merchants batch their transactions less frequently, resulting in the transactions that stay pending longer.

Usually, the pending charge will disappear when the settled charge is processed, but occasionally, it will linger. This happens when the merchant creates a new transaction when they run the batch, rather than finalizing the existing authorization. The pending charge will drop off on its own, usually after a week or so.

Can a pending charge be canceled?

Once a charge is authorized, we're not able to cancel it—but the merchant often can. If the merchant cancels the charge while it’s still pending, they’ll remove it from their list of transactions to finalize. They don’t usually have a way to remove the pending hold, but it'll drop off in time (usually after a week or so).

Why is the pending charge more (or less) than I paid?

You might notice a pending transaction for more or less than the amount you paid. This typically happens at restaurants, hotels, and gas stations—essentially, anywhere the final amount of the charge might change after your card is swiped. The transaction should change to reflect the correct amount when it's finalized.

I bought gas, but I don't see a pending charge—why?

If you buy gas using your PIN number, the transaction should be finalized almost instantly, and it'll be reflected in your balance and your transaction list right away.

If you don't use your PIN, a $0 pending hold will be placed on your account. Since it's for $0, you won't see it in your balance or your transaction list until the charge settles and changes to reflect the right amount. We will send you a push notification (if you have them enabled) when the hold is placed, though!

Did you find this article helpful? Yes / No
Aw man. Thanks for letting us know!